Trustees

West New York Public Schools

Board Of Education

 

 

President Adam Parkinson   Vice President Damarys Gonzalez
Hudson County School Board Association   Chair - Facilities, Community Relations, Education, Special Education, & Technology, Negotiations
Term: January 2014-December 2019   Term: January 2015-December 2017
aparkinson@wnyschools.net   dgonzalez@wnyschools.net
     
 

 

Trustee Jonathan Castaneda   Trustee Matthew Cheng
New Jersey School Board Association
Chair - Personnel & Policy, Finance, RFP/RFQ
  Chair - Education, Special Education & Technology
Finance
Term: January 2016-December 2018   Term: February 2014-December 2018
castaneda@wnyschools.net   mcheng@wnyschools.net
     
 

 

Trustee Dennise Mejia    Trustee David Morel
Chair - RFP/RFQ, Personnel/Policy, Facilities   Chair - Finance, Education, Special Education, & Technology
RFP/RFQ
Term: January 2015-December 2017   Term: May 2016-December 2019
dmejia@wnyschools.net   dmorel@wnyschools.net
     
     

 

Trustee Lorena Portillo   Trustee Steven Rodas
    NJ School Board Association Delegate, Chair - Negotiations, Personnel & Policy, Community Relations
Term: October 2014-December 2018   Term: May 2014-December 2017
lportillo@wnyschools.net   srodas@wnyschools.net
     

 

 

   
Trustee Ronald Scheurle  
Chair - Community Relations, Facilities, Negotiations  
Term: January 2017-December 2019      
rscheurle@wnyschools.net      

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The West New York Board of Education trustees serve without compensation, except for the satisfaction they receive from the public service they perform.

The Board of Education’s most important duties include the following; the creation, evaluation, and update of policies for the entire school district; the second is to develop an annual budget for the district; the third is to approve or disapprove the Superintendent’s recommendations in regard to personnel matters and contracts; and finally, the fourth duty of the Board is to act as a communication link between residents of the Town of West New York and the School District.

Board members, in order to carry out their duties effectively and efficiently, receive extensive training through the New Jersey School Boards Association.

The West New York Board of Education welcomes residents to communicate their concerns to the Board by letter, phone call, or a statement under the "public portion” of one of the Board’s meetings.