Trustees

West New York Public Schools

Board Of Education

 

 

President Adam Parkinson   Vice President Damarys Gonzalez
Hudson County School Board Association   Chair - Facilities, Community Relations, Education, Special Education, & Technology, Personnel & Policy
Term: January 2014-December 2019   Term: January 2015-December 2020
aparkinson@wnyschools.net   dgonzalez@wnyschools.net
     
 

 

Trustee Jonathan Castaneda   Trustee Matthew Cheng
New Jersey School Board Association Delegate
Chair - Finance, Chair - Community Relations, RFP/RFQ, Facilities
   
Term: January 2016-December 2018   Term: February 2014-December 2018
jcastaneda@wnyschools.net   mcheng@wnyschools.net
     
 

 

Trustee Maite Fernandez   Trustee Jose Ruben Mendoza
NJ School Boards Association
Chair - Negotiations, Finance, Facilities, Education, Special Education, and Technology
  Chair - Personnel & Policy,  RFP/RFQ, Negotiations, Community Relations
Term: January 2018-December 2020   Term: January 2018 -December 2020
maifernandez@wnyschools.net   jmendoza@wnyschools.net
     
     

 

Trustee David Morel   Trustee Lorena Portillo
Chair - RFP/RFQ, Personnel & Policy, Education, Special Education, & Technology, Finance, Negotiations    
Term: May 2016 - December 2019   Term: October 2014-December 2018
dmorel@wnyschools.net   lportillo@wnyschools.net
     

 

 

   
Trustee Ronald Scheurle  
   
Term: January 2017-December 2019      
rscheurle@wnyschools.net      

 

 

The West New York Board of Education trustees serve without compensation, except for the satisfaction they receive from the public service they perform.

The Board of Education’s most important duties include the following; the creation, evaluation, and update of policies for the entire school district; the second is to develop an annual budget for the district; the third is to approve or disapprove the Superintendent’s recommendations in regard to personnel matters and contracts; and finally, the fourth duty of the Board is to act as a communication link between residents of the Town of West New York and the School District.

Board members, in order to carry out their duties effectively and efficiently, receive extensive training through the New Jersey School Boards Association.

The West New York Board of Education welcomes residents to communicate their concerns to the Board by letter, phone call, or a statement under the "public portion” of one of the Board’s meetings.