search this site
 

Trustees

West New York Public Schools

Board Of Education

 

 

President Adam Parkinson   Vice President David Morel
Hudson County School Boards Association Representative; NJ Legislative Committee Delegate   NJ School Boards Associate Delegate
    Chair - RFP/RFQ;
Community Relations and Negotiations
Term: Jan 2014 - Dec 2019   Term: May 2016 - Dec 2019
aparkinson@wnyschools.net   dmorel@wnyschools.net
     
 

 

Trustee Jonathan Castaneda   Trustee Adrienne Sires
NJ School Boards Association Representative    
Chair - Finance;
Facilities & Ground, Personnel & Policy; RFP/RFQ
  Chair - Personnel & Policy;
Facilities & Grounds; RFP/RFQ
Term: Jan 2016 - Dec 2021   Term: Jan 2019 - Dec 2021
jcastaneda@wnyschools.net   asires@wnyschools.net
     
 

 

Trustee Maite Fernandez   Trustee Jose Ruben Mendoza
     
Chair - Education, Special Education, & Technology;
Negotiations
  Chair - Negotiations;
Community Relations
Term: Jan 2018 -Dec 2020   Term: Jan 2018 -Dec 2020
maifernandez@wnyschools.net   jmendoza@wnyschools.net
     
     

 

Trustee Damarys Gonzalez   Trustee Joseph Rodriguez
     
Chair - Community Relations;
Education, Special Education & Technology
  Chair - Facilities & Grounds;
Education, Special Education, & Technology, Finance, Personnel & Policy
Term: Jan 2015 - Dec 2020   Term: Jan 2019 - Dec 2021
dgonzalez@wnyschools.net   jorodriguez@wnyschools.net
     

 

 

   
Trustee Ronald Scheurle  
       
Finance  
Term: Jan 2017 -Dec 2019      
rscheurle@wnyschools.net      

 

 

The West New York Board of Education trustees serve without compensation, except for the satisfaction they receive from the public service they perform.

The Board of Education’s most important duties include the following; the creation, evaluation, and update of policies for the entire school district; the second is to develop an annual budget for the district; the third is to approve or disapprove the Superintendent’s recommendations in regard to personnel matters and contracts; and finally, the fourth duty of the Board is to act as a communication link between residents of the Town of West New York and the School District.

Board members, in order to carry out their duties effectively and efficiently, receive extensive training through the New Jersey School Boards Association.

The West New York Board of Education welcomes residents to communicate their concerns to the Board by letter, phone call, or a statement under the "public portion” of one of the Board’s meetings.